Tags

, , ,

flat iron steak fajitasI mentioned on Twitter yesterday that I was experimenting with a marinade for some flat iron steaks that I wanted to use for fajitas for dinner. As you may know, flat iron or flank steaks can be super tough if not marinated or cooked properly – I always seem to find this out the hard way when gnawing my way through dinner. Well, this time I wanted to make sure these steaks not only avoided the trash can, but I wanted them to taste great too. I ended up marinating them in a container in the fridge for the majority of the day (8:30AM – 5:30PM, if anyone wants exact timing here) 😉 and they were the perfect consistency with so much flavor! Here’s what I came up with for the marinade:

1 cup soy sauce
1 1/2 cups mango juice (or nectar)
1 tablespoon cumin
1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice

Just whisk all the ingredients together quick and throw in your steaks. I think marinating in a container seems more mess-free than in a ziplock bag, but whatever you prefer will do the trick.

When it came time to cook the steaks, I set my broiler on high and let a cast iron skillet heat up in the oven for about 20 minutes. Gosh I don’t know what I’d do without my cast iron skillet! We don’t have a grill, so I use this thing for steaks… burgers… pork chops, you name it! My favorite way to cook a nice piece of steak is to start it in a really hot cast iron on the stove top and transfer it to a preheated 400 degree oven to finish them off (Thanks Ina, for that tip!) …but that’s a whole other recipe for another day! So, back to the flat irons… Once the cast iron is heated, cook the steaks for 6-8 minutes on each side – not directly under the broiler, just set your rack in the middle of the oven – this way you’ll prevent the steaks from burning, but you’ll have a nice high heat similar to a grill. Once they’ve cooked on each side, remove the skillet from the oven and let the steaks rest for about 10 minutes. Slice them nice and thin and serve with sautéed peppers and onions.

Enjoy!

Amy, xo.

