Tags

,

I really need to step up my bread game. Ask me to whip up a cookie? You got it! Pie crust… pizza crust…? I can tackle that! Cakes? I mean, obviously. But bread? Rolls? They always turn out dense and just… not right. I started my quest with simple (and I mean, SIMPLE) tiny butter dinner rolls today. Della helped me measure out all of the ingredients, and we crossed our fingers for soft, moist rolls to have with our pasta tonight. Guys? I think I actually did it! They’re far from perfect, but for my first go-around, they turned out pretty well! You should already have all of the ingredients needed in your house, and they proof so quickly. Here’s what I did:

2 cups all purpose flour (divided)
1 envelope dry active yeast
2 tablespoons sugar
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup milk
¼ cup water
2 tablespoons butter

Mix ¾ cup flour, yeast, sugar and salt in the bowl of your stand mixer.  Heat the milk, water and butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds, or just until it is warm to the touch. Add it to the flour mixture and beat with mixer for about 2 minutes.

Add another ¼ cup of flour and beat on high for another 2 minutes. Stir in enough of the remaining flour to make a soft dough. Depending on the brand of flour you’re using and the climate you’re in, you’ll probably need a bit more flour – just guess! I added about a 1/2 a cup more to mine to form a soft dough that was no longer sticky.

Knead the dough (with dough hook or by hand) for about 8 minutes; at the end of 8 minutes, the dough should come away from the sides of the bowl easily and cleanly.

Cover with a clean kitchen towel and let it rest for 10 minutes.  Divide dough into 12 pieces and shape into balls.  It’s easiest to make the “perfect” dinner roll by cupping your hand, like so:

…and rolling the piece of dough around underneath your hand until a ball forms. When you flip the ball over there should be a belly button looking formation. (Thanks, Kelsey Nixon from Kelsey’s Essentials for that tip!) Gotta love those cooking shows! Plus, Kelsey’s super cute 😉

Place in greased glass dish or cupcake pans. Brush the tops with melted butter or EVOO and cover with that same clean kitchen towel. Let rise until doubled in size. I left mine out for about 2 hours, but they seemed to rise pretty quickly (30-45 minutes) and could’ve been baked off then.

Bake at 375 for 16 to 20 minutes or until golden brown. Brush with more butter or EVOO when they come out of the oven. Serve warm!

Amy, xo.

