Tags

, , ,

I’ve been meaning to share this exceptionally simple butter pumpkin recipe I stumbled upon on Pinterest with you, so please excuse my delay šŸ˜‰ Thanks to Spoon Fork Bacon, I whipped up this seasonal favorite in less than an hour with only one pot!

I’m a sucker for Apple Butter (specifically Brown’s Orchards, oh how I miss Brown’s…) and eat it on just about everything this time of year. Toast. Bagels. Muffins. Cottage cheese. Oatmeal. It’s sweet, spicy, and the perfect topping for just about anything. Spoon Fork Bacon’s Pumpkin Butter maaay have topped the list. Don’t quote me on that one, but I’m just sayin’… Homemade. Easy. And a perfect party favor or gift all dolled up in Mason jars with some burlap and twine.

Here’s the original recipe so you can give it a try, too!

Pumpkin Butter
Makes 3Ā½-4 cups

Ingredients:
1 (29 ounce) can pumpkin puree
1 cup 100% apple juice (unfiltered pressed apples are best)
Ā¾ cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar
Ā¼ cup pure maple syrup
2 Ā½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons ground ginger
Ā¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
Ā¼ teaspoon ground cloves
Ā¼ teaspoon all-spice

1. Place all ingredients into a medium pot and place over medium heat. Stir.
2. Allow the mixture to reduce on medium to medium-low heat for 30 to 40 minute or until slightly thickened (the mixture will thicken more as it cools).
3. Transfer to sterilized jars and store until ready to use.

*I did a bit of research and found that most homemade “fruit butters” prepared this way while last for about a month in theĀ refrigeratorĀ or 3 months in the freezer.

Amy, xo.

