Tags

, ,

I’ve been eating this addictively delicious apple cinnamon oatmeal this past week that I just couldn’t help but share with y’all. Oatmeal has been my go-to breakfast of choice this pregnancy because it fills me up and keeps me full until lunch. (Granted, even if I am still full I usually indulge in a mid-morning snack… but, that’s besides the point…) Oats are one of those “nutritional superstars” during pregnancy because they pack a ton of fiber, B vitamins, and iron – which are all obviously essential when growing a human. After I whipped up that pumpkin butter recipe from Pinterest (and Oops! Yes! I realize I still need to share that outrageously simple recipe with you) I was swirling that around in my oatmeal, but I’m kind of pumpkined-out (mid-October – I know, I know!) so I thought I’d switch it up a bit.

I searched good ol’ trusty Pinterest yet again, only to find recipes that wanted you to cook the oatmeal over the stovetop. Uh, HELLLLO – I have a very demanding toddler who wants her “beckfist” the moment she steps foot out of bed. Needless to say, no time for stovetop.

This recipe seemed simple enough and easy to modify by cooking my old fashioned oats in the micro. Here’s how I changed it up a bit:

1/2 c old fashioned oats
Enough water to soak and coat your oats; I always just guess here.
1/2 apple, cored and diced (Honeycrisp is best!)
Splash of milk
Spoonfull of brown sugar
Dash of vanilla extract (optional)
(2) 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
Sprinkle of almond (or really whatever flavor you prefer) granola; gives it added crunch + extra fiber!

Place oats and water in a microwave safe bowl. Nuke it for about 2 minutes, or until it comes to a rolling boil. Take it out, mix it, and then just make sure it’s reached the desired consistency you like. Add a splash of milk and the vanilla extract for flavor and a little creaminess. Sprinkle in about half of the brown sugar and 1/4 tsp of the cinnamon. While your oatmeal is cooling a bit, take another microwave safe bowl and add the diced apples, other half of brown sugar, and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon – mix a bit and microwave that for 1 minute. When this is finished, the apples should be soft, hot, and oozing with delicious cinnamon goodness. Incorporate your apple mixture into your oatmeal and top with a sprinkle of granola. Viola! Better than that Quaker baggy of instant with the unrecognizable apples, and just let me tell you – SO MUCH more flavor.

Are there any other oatmeal flavor combinations you’ve whipped up and can’t get enough of? I’d love to hear them!

Now excuse me while I go pack my bag for the weekend – we’re celebrating our 3rd anniversary in DC!!!

Amy, xo.

