Tags

, ,


For all of you that follow me on Facebook, Twitter, OR Instagram, you know we announced some very exciting news this past weekend! We’re having another baby!!! We’re completely thrilled to have made it to the second trimester and we’re so ready to meet our new sweet little babe this spring. Our due date is April 20th (one day shy of my due date with Della! How crazy is that?!) and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Della is as excited as a two and a half year old can be and she’s definitely aware (at least we think…) of what’s going on. She calls the baby “Baby Brother” (poor thing if it’s a girl!) and already talks to “him” and asks to lift my shirt so she can kiss my belly. It’s the sweetest thing and everything I had hoped for when giving her a sibling.

Here’s the run-down of everything you’ve missed along my journey so far in this pregnancy:

Wednesday, August 15th, 2012

How far along: 4 weeks, 4 days

Size of Baby:  According to the bump, a poppyseed! “At 4 weeks, your baby, now known as a blastocyst, is practically microscopic — a teeny ball of cells. She’s busy settling into her new home (your uterus), prepping for all the crucial development she’ll be doing over the next six weeks.

Starting Weight: 122  – vs. –  Weight Gain: 0 / Totaling: 122

Maternity clothes:  No

Symptoms: SO exhausted and non-stop peeing.

Cravings/Aversions:  Give me all the junk food! Chips and ice cream are mostly what I daydream about.

Movement:  Nope

Sleep: Waking up to pee in the middle of the night and having a hard time falling back to sleep.

Gender:  We’ve got a few (a lot!) more weeks before that!

Looking forward to: The first trimester being over so my mind can be at ease and I’ll be comforted to know we will definitely meet this little bebe in the spring.

Worries:  That I’ll miscarry like my previous pregnancy.

What’s different this time:  At this point, not too much. We found out we were pregnant with Della this exact same time 3 years ago and our estimated due date is 10 days shy of Della’s birthday, so they are very similar!

Milestones: We found out we were pregnant today!

Best moment this week: Seeing the double lines and then the digital “Yes +” on the pregnancy tests!

Wednesday, September 12th

How far along: 8 weeks, 5 days

Size of baby:  According to The Bumpa raspberry! Your baby is growing like mad, putting on about a millimeter every day and continuing to straighten out in the trunk. Though you can’t feel it yet, baby is moving those little arms, legs and (now only slightly) webbed fingers and toes like crazy.

Starting Weight: 122  – vs. –  Weight Gain: 2.5 lbs / Totaling: 124.5 (I’m aiming for 25 lbs. the entire pregnancy… wish me luck!)

Maternity clothes:  Not yet

Symptoms: EVER-Y-THING. You name it, I have it. Especially the “morning” sickness. It started at about week 6, and has lingered on since. I really only notice it now in the evenings, which sucks because it’s when I want to relax with Dan and watch a show, but all I can do to feel better is go to sleep…

Cravings/aversions: Anything unhealthy, I want it. Soda. Fries. Wendy’s! (Yeah, I gave into that craving already…) Dill pickles (how stereotypical of me). Pumpkin bread. I’m really not interested in many sweets though, which is ODD for me.

Movement:  Nope

Sleep: Okay. Still getting up to pee at least 3-4 times a night.

Gender:  Not yet

Looking forward to:  Getting past the first trimester and hopefully getting rid of this sickness!

Worries: Until I’m “in the clear,” I will constantly worry about miscarrying again.

What’s different this time:  The terrible symptoms! My pregnancy with Della was a breeze. From the day we found out until after I delivered her… everything was so easy. I can already tell this pregnancy (and baby!) is going to be very different. (Boy, perhaps??!)

Milestones:  I saw the baby’s heartbeat at my first OB appointment two weeks ago! It was a healthy 144 BPM which was such a relief to see.

Best moment this week: Starting to feel somewhat “normal” again during the day.

Wednesday, October 10th

(Please excuse this photo as I look HUGE and just… blah.)

How far along: 12 weeks, 5 days

Size of baby:  According to The Bumpa plum! “As you move into the second trimester, baby shifts into the growth and maturation stage. After weeks in the critical development stage, almost all of baby’s systems are fully formed.

Starting Weight: 122  – vs. –  Weight Gain: 6 lbs / Totaling: 128

Maternity clothes:  Some tops, and I’m now at that awkward stage where my regular jeans won’t button, but my maternity jeans are still too big. I’ve resorted to using a hair tie to close my pants and longer maternity tops to cover it up!

Symptoms: I have finally (FINALLY!!!) gotten past that awful “morning” sickness phase. Phew! That was definitely a challenge (and yet a blessing too, because it gave me comfort and a constant reminder that this pregnancy was actually happening!) I’m now just really exhausted during the late afternoon and early evening. If I could go to sleep every night at 7, I’d do it!

Cravings/aversions: The “I want it and I want it NOW” feeling with food has kind of subsided (though the scale doesn’t really reflect that – oof!) I haven’t had any real cravings or aversions these past few weeks. Although, I could eat salami and harvarti cheese for lunch every day and never get tired of it 😉

Movement:  Nope

Sleep: Okay. Still getting up to pee a couple time a night. Plus, now we’re all suffering from an awful cough which seems to wake me up more than anything else these days.

Gender:  Not yet. Hopefully we’ll be able to schedule that appointment the next time I go to the doctors!

Looking forward to: Finding out the gender of this baby. Della calls it “Baby Brother.” She’s convinced we’re having a boy (though I don’t know if she really understands what that means…) It’ll be nice to finally put a real name on it (since we have both genders picked out already!) and start planning fun things like the nursery.

Worries: At this point, just that the baby continues to stay healthy and that when it is time for the Anatomic Ultrasound, that everything checks out normal.

What’s different this time:  I am showing SO. MUCH. FASTER! I feel huge already and my weight gain is sneaking up on me quickly.

Milestones:  I saw the baby’s heartbeat again this past week and it’s still high at 165 BPM. Della’s was always in the 60’s and from what I’ve read, higher heart rates are usually connected to girls – we shall see!

Best moment this week: Having a bump and strangers noticing and asking when I’m due.

_

So, there’s all the details you’ve missed these past three months. It’s hard to believe I’m already (almost) 14 weeks pregnant – so close to half way! I’m so thankful we’ve made it this far and continue to get positive feedback from my doctor at every appointment. We’re having a baby, y’all!!!

Amy, xo.

