Tags

, ,

Told ya I’d be back with more of these “’tis the season” recipes!

Della and I went apple picking Monday morning at an orchard in Winchester (Marker-Miller) with a new playgroup we joined, and I found myself with a couple fresh apples and a hankering for the most ideal fall dessert… apple crisp! I searched Pinterest for recipes and, as always, wasn’t satisfied with my findings. I threw together a few staples from different ones I had browsed and came up with these individual crisps. Perfect for two! No leftovers to snack on for days… (wait, now I’m rethinking this… 😉 )

Here’s what I came up with:

Individual Apple Crisps

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • Salt; just a sprinkle.
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 large tart-sweet apples (We picked Golden Delicious, Red Delicious, and Rome; I choose to use the Rome for these. Honeycrisps were already gone for the season. Total bummer!)
  • 2 (additional) tablespoon of sugar
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice

Preheat oven to 400°F. In a bowl, whisk together flour, 2 Tbsp. of sugar, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon, nutmeg and a pinch of salt. Pour butter over dry ingredients and mix with a fork. Set aside for later.

In a separate bowl, combine apple cubes with the additional 2 Tbsp. sugar and lemon juice, tossing to coat. Divide among your oven-safe ramekins and top each with half of the crumb mixture.

Place ramekins on a baking sheet and bake until the apples are soft and bubbly and topping is browned, 30 to 35 minutes. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream! I feel like I should say that last part is optional, but seriously – WHO wouldn’t want ice cream and whipped cream on top?!

Amy, xo.

