Tags

, ,

I was inspired by this recipe to try my hand at a tomato pie this afternoon. Our friends were down visiting this past weekend and they left us with a handful of extremely ripe tomatoes – I knew if I didn’t use them (and fast!) they’d go bad.

A little back story on where my love for tomato pie stems from: 1) It reminds me of my Toots. Can’t quite put my finger on why (probably because she loved it – simple as it may sound.) And, 2) My mom and I stumbled upon this adorable cafe back home in Pennsylvania (in Litiz) called Tomato Pie Cafe. The most darling little place, with a great menu. Peanut Butter, Nutella, & Banana Panini anyone?! ūüėČ I ordered their tomato pie and fell. in. LOVE!

I haven’t seen tomato pie on any menus recently, but the first thing that popped into my head when deciding how I’d use those ripe ‘mators, was… Tomato Pie Cafe!

I tweaked the original recipe I was inspired by (go figure!) and was so happy with the outcome.

Here’s what I did:

Store-bought crust (unless you’re ambitious, then by all means – make your own!) :: Bake it according to the package in a tart pan or pie dish. Let it cool.

Tomatoes :: Slice about 4-5 medium sized tomatoes. Heirloom would be gorgeous! Then slice half of a red onion, for added flavor.

Assemble :: Lay about 5-6 slices of provolone cheese on top of your pre-baked crust. You could also use shredded¬†mozzarella, asiago, maybe a sharp white cheddar?! Whatever you have and you enjoy. Sprinkle the cheese with some freshly grated black pepper, salt, thyme, and rosemary; all to taste. Then layer on the ‘mators! Top with the red onion, drizzle with EVOO, and a bit more of the previous seasonings.

Bake :: Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for about 35-45 minutes. Let the pie cool 5-10 minutes, then top with fresh herbs – I used basil.

So delicious and a perfect way to use this season’s abundance of tomatoes. I’m hoping to follow this “tis the season” idea in upcoming months to incorporate other seasonal and local goodies.

Amy, xo.

