Hello again! Seems I’ve been pretty relaxed and well, just plain non-existant with blogging this summer, huh? Blame it on the house renovations! We (okay, I shouldn’t say “we” considering I haven’t helped really at all) but Dan, has been prepping the exterior of our house for paint and he’s finally painting the final color! We’re absolutely loving it and counting down to the day it’s finished – this place is going to look brand spankin’ new once it’s all said and done. What a sigh of relief that day will be!

While Dan’s been outside in this outrageous heat working his bum off, Della and I’ve been laying low in the A/C or taking mini trips up to Pennsylvania. Here are two little clips of Miss Della Jane that I thought were just too cute not to share:

(To view this video larger, go here.)

Oh, and I guess I did mention a little something about a tart recipe, too, didn’t I?! I had about a pound and a half of fresh Bing cherries in the fridge that I knew I could probably polish off in one sitting, but I’m always looking for new recipes to try out and Pinterest has been FULL of cherry recipes lately. Here are a couple I was considering: This one & this one. I ended up picking a very simple cherry and almond tart from Foodie.com and I’m so glad I did! So fresh and tasty!

You can find the original recipe here. I ended up substituting the Morello cherries for my fresh Bing which I’m sure gives the tart a completely different flavor but it was exactly what I was hoping for!

Crust
7 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature, plus 1 tablespoon melted
1 cup sliced almonds
3 tablespoons sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon almond extract

Filling
8 oz mascarpone cheese; you could also substitue cream cheese here.
2 tablespoons confectioners sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream
1-2 cups fresh cherries; pitted & halved
1/4 cup slivered almonds

Prepare the tart pan by brushing bottom and edges with melted butter. Set aside.

In the bowl of a food processor, pulse the sliced almonds with 1 tablespoon sugar until fine. Add the butter and pulse until it becomes a crumble. Add the flour, salt, remaining sugar and almond extract and pulse until it is combined and crumbly.

Press the dough into the tart pan using a dry measuring cup or your fingers and gently push up the sides of the tart pan. Chill in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Bake the chilled tart crust for about 20 minutes, or until just golden brown. Let it cool completely on a wire rack.

Meantime, make the filling. In a medium bowl, beat the mascarpone cheese with an electric mixer. Beat in the sugar and heavy cream. Let it chill in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes. Spread the chilled filling in the cool tart crust. Top with the cherries and sprinkle the almonds around the edge. Return to the refrigerator to chill until ready to serve.

Gently remove from the tart pan and slice to serve.

Amy, xo.

