Tags

,

First of all, I just want to say thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for all the sweet words and uplifting gestures in response to my post yesterday. It’s comforting to know I have such a great support system, not only including my family and friends, but also the lovely ladies and mom’s I’ve met while blogging and through Twitter. The interweb is truly a blessing in that sense. So again, thank you for all your love, support, and prayers. I know someday we’ll be on the other end of this, looking back, relishing in the fact that we overcame it.

And now… What this post is really about! I have a recipe to share with you, but first! a little back-story on our new eating habits. Dan and I watched Forks Over Knives the other night after I saw all the comments and “life-changing” actions people were taking prior to seeing it. Like others, we were awestruck and wanted to switch up our eating habits a bit. I don’t want this post to reflect the entire Forks Over Knives documentary, but basically (in a couple very simple words) they believe that cutting out meat and dairy products can reverse a lot of negative effects that they are causing within your body.

We’ve decided not to categorize ourselves as “vegetarians” or “vegans” but to simply just be more conscious of what we’re eating and putting into our bodies. We’re cutting out meat altogether (for now anyway – I’m sure we’ll crave a burger every now and again) however we’re still choosing to eat eggs since we get them fresh from a local lady Dan works with. I’m also still eating cheese in moderation, because honestly – I like it! and I won’t be eating an ungodly amount of it by any means. We switched over to almond milk about 4 months ago and L-O-V-E, love it. Plus, Dan and I aren’t milk drinkers – we really only put it in our cereal. So, there you have it – our new outlook on eating. I’m hoping to share a couple recipes from time to time that we really enjoy, the potato and onion tart I made last night for dinner shall be the first!

Upside Down Potato and Onion Tart

{Original recipe found here. I adapted this one a bit to fit what I had in the fridge.}

2 1/2 tablespoons butter

12 sprigs thyme, strip the leaves from the stems

1 large onion, sliced somewhat thickly ( a tad more than 1/4 inch thick)

1 lb. small red potatoes, washed and very thinly sliced

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 cup grated Manchego

1/2 cup grated Parmesan

1 cup grated Mozzarella

sea salt and cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 400°. Melt the butter in a 9-10 inch ovenproof frying pan (cast iron is great) over medium heat. Add the thyme and onion and cook for 5 minutes. Place the potato, oil, cheeses, salt and pepper in a bowl and toss to combine.

Top the onion with the potato mixture and bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown and cooked through. Turn upside down to serve.

I served ours with a spinach, strawberry, and almond salad. The tart was a bit rich with all the cheeses it had in it, but overall had great flavor and we even have a couple slices leftover for lunch this week!

Amy, xo.

