Tags

Remember over the holidays when I was trying out all of those new cookie recipes? And I left you with empty promises of sharing my ultimate chocolate chip cookie recipe? Well, get ready folks… ’cause I’m about to spill the beans! My recent bummed-out state (and crazy fluctuating hormones!) have left me feeling very giving and all mushy-gushy, lovey-dovey. So, lucky you!

Dan picked up Lola’s cupcakes for me on his way home from work Friday night and that afternoon I thought: What goes well with cupcakes?! Chocolate chip cookies, of course! (My sweet tooth is out of control. I know. This is no new revelation.)

So, there’s two key steps to these puppies that make a huge difference: (1) Creaming the butter and sugar with MELTED butter. (2) You MUST use a large cookie scoop. Not two flatware spoons scooping out uneven globs. A uniformed 1/4 cup scoop. (My mom and I differ here: She swears by scooping the batter into whoopie pie pans for a uniformed cookie. I say stick to the good ol’ fashioned cookie sheet. Mine are better Mom, just admit it 😉 )

So, without further ado… Here’s the recipe:

2 sticks unsalted butter
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 tablespoons milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste
2 cups milk or dark chocolate chips (not semi-sweet!)

Melt the butter in a glass or microwave safe bowl for about 1 minute; set aside. Whisk together the flour, salt, and baking soda; set aside.
Pour the melted butter in the mixer’s bowl. Add the sugar and brown sugar. Cream the butter and sugars on medium speed. Add the egg, yolk, 2 tablespoons milk and vanilla bean paste and mix until combined. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. Chill the dough for about 10-15 minutes or until it stiffens a bit (while it’s chilling, pre-heat your oven to 375F.) Then, scoop onto parchment-lined or silicone-lined baking sheets, 6 cookies per sheet. Bake for 14 minutes or until golden brown, checking the cookies after 5 minutes.

I’m tellin’ ya, if you like big crunchy-edged but chewy-center cookies, you’ll never use another recipe again! My sister-in-law even requested these after she delivered her baby. They’re that good.

I hope this inspires a little rainy Sunday afternoon baking in your house!

Amy, xo.

