Tags

, ,

You can expect a lot of recipes out of me in the near future. When I want to distract myself from what’s really going on (I’ll talk about that on another day… maybe), I tend to gravitate to the kitchen. I have a ton of buttermilk leftover from the Irish Soda bread I baked over the weekend and I wanted to make sure it didn’t go to waste – I searched for a simple recipe I could incorporate some of the fruit I have stocked up in the fridge in to. This is an ideal breakfast to wake up to on a cool spring morning with warm coffee. I’ve been eating it alongside Vanilla Greek yogurt – yum!

1 cup flour
4 1/2 T butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar + 2 T sugar for the meringue
1/2 tsp lemon zest
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla paste
2 egg yolks
1 egg white
1/2 cup well-shaken buttermilk
1/4 tsp salt
chopped fresh strawberries, handful or as you like

Preheat oven to 400°F. Butter and flour a 8 inch round cake pan. Mix the dry ingredients together. Cream together butter and 1/2 cup of sugar until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes, then beat in vanilla. Add the egg yolks and beat well. At low speed, mix in flour mixture in 3 batches, alternating with buttermilk, mixing until just combined. Set aside and whip the egg whites till frothy. Gently drizzle in the sugar and continue whipping until the meringue holds stiff peaks.Fold about a 1/3 of the meringue into the batter to loosen it. Gently fold the remaining whites just until you no longer see any white streaks, about 25 strokes. Spoon batter into cake pan, smoothing top.Scatter strawberry pieces over the top. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, until cake is golden and a wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack and cool to warm, 10 to 15 minutes more. I topped mine with a little sprinkle of powdered sugar 🙂

I found the original recipe here.

I hope you’re enjoying these oddly warm temperatures the East coast is delighting us with lately. We’ve been spending a lot of our afternoons outside – Dan working in the yard, Della digging through piles of rocks or coloring with sidewalk chalk, and me just taking it all in; trying to stay at peace with our new found situation and grateful for what I do have.

Any Spring-like recipes I should be trying out? Send some my way! My Pinterest account is so overwhelming, I don’t know what to try next.

Amy, xo.

