Tags

I was feeling down in the dumps after the realization of our always-changing settlement date, so I knew I needed to get in the kitchen to lift up my spirits a bit. I’ve been trying to consolidate the last remaining perishable items we have in the house to make for a smoother and less wasteful move, but I had all the staples for homemade muffins (plus some blueberries and blackberries!) so I adapted this little recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries + 1/2 cup fresh blackberries (although you could really use any fresh berry that you’d like!)
  • Enough brown sugar to generously sprinkle on top of the muffins before baking.
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line muffin tins with paper liners.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, salt, cinnamon and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with the flour mixture. Fold in berries. Fill muffin cups right to the top (I used a cookie scoop), and sprinkle with a generous pinch of brown sugar.
  3. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

They were the perfect partner to my afternoon cup of chamomile and honey.

Amy, xo.

