Tags

Remember when we woke up to an inch or two of that dreaded white stuff Saturday morning? Yes, I know, most people relish in the idea of waking up to soft powdery snow. I, on the other hand, can’t stand it’s partner in crime that always seems to accompany it: Inconvenience.

Well, I quickly brushed those pessimistic thoughts to the wayside, headed into the kitchen, and thought I better take advantage of a day with my loves, good food, and relaxation. (A little calm before the storm, if you will.)

Here’s what I came up with: A snowy day stew with sweet rolls. Mmm hmm!

2 lbs. boneless beef chuck roast, trimmed and cut into 1-1/2-inch chunks

3 stalks of celery, cut into diagonal chunks

half a bag of baby carrots, cut in half

half of a white onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

2 Idaho potatoes, skin on, quartered and cut into 1 inch chunks

2 cups of organic beef stock

2 ½ cups of water

1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar

¼ cup of red wine (I used Cabernet Sauvignon — just happened to have a bottle already open from last night, but you could use whatever you have on hand. Preferably something you’d enjoy drinking, too!)

1 ½ teaspoons of the following three dry herbs: rosemary, thyme, & crushed bay leaves

¼ cup corn starch

I like to keep everything pretty chunky so it’s a nice hearty stew. I threw everything into my slow cooker, set it on high, and let it simmer and mellow together all day. (I’d say it was in there for a good 8 hours.) Right before it was time to serve, I removed 1/4 cup of the hot stock, whisked the corn starch into it, then stirred that slurry into the stew allowing it to thicken for about 10-15 minutes. I also threw a splash of heavy cream in at the end, too. Ya know, you can never add too much fat or flavor to the mix 😉 Plus, I like my comfort food nice and creamy! I served it with sweet rolls, which ended up turning into your basic (albeit flat) dinner rolls — total baker fail, but they satisfied my love for yeasty carbs to dip in the stew, so whatever. I’ll take it.

Now I knooow ya’ll want that sweet rolls recipe, (hopefully you’ll have better luck than me!) and thanks to my lovely and new-found addiction to Pinterest you can easily make them too. Just follow this recipe: Here.

I hope you enjoyed the serenity a snowy day can bring.

Amy, xo.

