Tags

,

I had a couple baked sweet potatoes leftover from dinner the other night and wanted to make sure they got eaten. My love for sweet potatoes is evident, but a plain sweet potato for more than 1 day for lunch can get boring, and fast!, so I whipped up this simple recipe using ingredients I had in my pantry.

1 Cup All Purpose Flour
1 Cup Old Fashioned Oats
1/3 Cup Brown Sugar
1 Tsp Baking Powder
1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
1/2 Tsp Salt
1 Tsp Nutmeg + 1/2 Tsp Ginger
2 Large Eggs, whisked
1 Cup Sweet Potato Puree*
1/2 Cup Almond Milk
1/4 Cup Canola or Vegetable Oil
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

+ 1/2 Cup Chopped roasted almonds, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, dash of salt mixture to sprinkle on top.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Place all the dry ingredients in a bowl and whisk to combine. In a separate bowl whisk the remaining wet ingredients. Slowly combine the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients just until they are combined (try not to over mix!). Place 1 tbsp of batter (I use a cookie scoop to get an accurate & consistant measurement) in each cup of greased mini muffin tins, top with a sprinkle of the almond & brown sugar mixture, then bake for 15 minutes.

* To make the sweet potato puree, bake sweet potatoes (or yams) in a 400 degree oven for one hour (depending on size), allow to cool, slice in quarters and mash flesh with a fork or in a food processor until smooth.

These little morsels are the perfect pick-me-up with afternoon coffee. I even crumbled some up & put it into my vanilla Greek yogurt — beyond delicious.

I’d love to hear how you use leftovers from one meal to make up a whole new dish or recipe!

Amy, xo.

