Tags

,

One of my very favorite meals. I’m talkin’ Top 5 quality. I ordered a Massaman curry dish in Atlanta once when visiting my uncle, fell in love, and have been jonesin’ for it ever since.

I didn’t follow a recipe; just adapted my own to recreate the dish I remembered from Atlanta.

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast

1 cup of water + 2 packets of Swanson’s Flavor Boost in Chicken flavor. (1 cup of low sodium chicken stock can be substituted here, I just didn’t have any on hand.)

2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

half of a large white onion (or a whole small), chopped

4 tablespoons Curry powder

1 teaspoon ginger

6-8 small red new potatoes, halved or quartered depending on size

half a bag of baby carrots

half a can of coconut milk

scallions, garnish

1/2 cup of uncooked brown rice (makes 1 1/2 cups cooked), to serve with

Just throw everything into your slow cooker, give it a good stir, and then keep it on high for around 6 hours. About 3 hours into the cooking process, shred the chicken as chunky or as finely as you like, then add back into the cooker. Stir in the coconut milk, and let it continue to cook, stirring occasionally. Serve over rice and garnish with the chopped scallions. Chopped cashews are another great garnish. (Totally wish we would’ve had some at the house — it’s the most perfect, unexpected crunch.)

Happy Eating!

Amy, xo.

